Salem Monastery and Palace
Old beauty in a new light
- Approved accomodations
- 100% safe booking
- 1 Million happy visitors
Journey into the past
Salem was founded as a Cistercian abbey in 1134 in the picturesque countryside of the Linzgau region on the northern shores of Lake Constance. The monks’ resourcefulness and imagination had a lasting impact on the village of Salmansweiler, which was given the “holy” name of Salem, meaning “place of peace”.
After a devastating fire in 1697, the monastery was rebuilt in the baroque style and furnished with plasterwork and paintings by well-known artists. The magnificent architecture and interiors testify to the wealth of the abbots of Salem and their appreciation of art: The precious alabaster adornments in the monastery church are unique, as are the iconographic schemes in the Emperor’s Room (Kaisersaal), which demonstrate the outstanding position of the former imperial abbey. Following secularisation in 1802, Salem Palace passed into the possession of the Margraves of Baden. Today, it is used as a residence by the house of Baden and the headquarters of the winegrowing estate of the Margraves of Baden. In 2009, a large part of the grounds was acquired by the state of Baden-Württemberg.
Things to do
Attractions for the whole family include the Monastery Museum in the prelacy building with a branch of Baden State Museum in Karlsruhe. Valuable exhibits from over 700 years of art and architectural history are presented under the title “Masterpieces from the Imperial Abbey”. The new Salem Fire Brigade Museum next to the Sennhof presents a unique collection of pumps and fire-fighting equipment, including rarities such as historic manual fire pumps, steam pumps and even engine-driven pumps. It also has a special focus on pioneers of firefighting such as Kurtz, Metz and Magirus, who “tell” visitors about their lives.
A comprehensive programme of events brings the history of Salem Monastery to life and takes visitors on a journey through centuries of monastic culture. Fascinating guided tours provide information on the monastery’s background, placing it in an art-historical context. Groups can book topical guided tours and wine tasting sessions.
- Daily guided tours through the former monastery and the magnificent interiors of the palace
- Every Sunday at 3 pm: “In the footsteps of the white monks.” Guided tour for children and families
- “Wine (hi)story” On a tour through the wine cellars, the monastery with the monks’ dining room, the cloisters and church, visitors get to sample three selected wines, served with fascinating stories about wine culture in Salem. Every day at 11:00 am, no reservation required, duration approx. 1 hour.
- Individual tour of the palace grounds with an audio guide.
Visitors can spend time in the extensive palace grounds, the court garden with its labyrinths and the artisan workshops. Classical concerts, open-air concerts, exhibitions and topical events round off the programme.
This text comes from the Bodensee Magazin - English Edition
This destination is a member of the Verband der Tourismuswirtschaft Bodensee.
"The best of Lake Constance"
|24. March - 01. November 2018|
|Monday - Saturday||9:30 am - 6:00 pm|
|Sunday and public holidays||10:30 am - 6:00 pm|
Every sunday at 3 pm guided tour "Journey through the centuries" of monastic life in Salem. Meeting point at the monastery museum, no registration required. Guided tour € 7,00 (ticket in monastery museum included, kids free).
Appointments for guided tours and wine tasting for groups possible.
|Groups (of 20 persons or more) per person||€ 8,10|
|Winter opening hours:|
|Entry free for Winter BodenseeErlebniskarten holder (also for guided toures on sunday afternoons).|
|Every sunday at 3 pm guided tour "Journey through the centuries":|
|Adults (entry for monastery museum included)||€ 7,00|